Recognition of Prior Learning

Last Updated on

Applications for individual PACFA membership, and applications from members of PACFA Member Association who wish to be listed on the PACFA Register, may be made via the Recognition of Prior Learning (RPL) pathway.

RPL is only available in the following three specific situations:

  1. Where the training was not accredited by PACFA
  2. Where the training was undertaken in a country other than Australia
  3. Where substantial client contact hours were completed during training (more than 500 hours) and some credit is sought towards the supervised client contact hours required for Clinical membership or registration.

However, as a minimum, all applicants for membership must have completed training in Counselling or Psychotherapy that meets the AQF standards and levels of learning. All qualifications must be approved by the Tertiary Education Quality Standards Agency (TEQSA) or the Australian Skills Quality Authority (ASQA) at either the undergraduate or postgraduate levels (AQF level 7 to 9).

Download the Guidelines for Recognition of Prior Learning .


// Register the toggle shortcode function toggle_shortcode( $atts, $content = null ) { extract( shortcode_atts( array( 'title' => 'Click To Open', 'color' => '' ), $atts ) ); return '

' . esc_html( $title ) . '

' . do_shortcode( wp_kses_post( $content ) ) . '
'; } add_shortcode( 'toggle', 'toggle_shortcode' );