Outcomes from PACFA AGM 2020

hands in the air

PACFA’s Annual General Meeting was held on Saturday 3 October 2020 and we are pleased to announce the meeting outcomes.

Constitutional changes were approved to create a new Aboriginal & Torres Strait Islander Representative position on the PACFA Board and to clearly embed Aboriginal & Torres Strait Islander Healing Practices as part of PACFA’s mission and constitutional objects.

This is a truly group-breaking achievement; PACFA is not aware of any other professional associations in Australia that have taken such an important step. It is seen as a very important aspect of the Reconciliation Action Plan which PACFA has committed to developing.

Dr Carlie Atkinson, the current Convenor of the College of Aboriginal & Torres Strait Islander Healing Practices (CATSIHP) will take up the new Board role of Aboriginal & Torres Strait Islander Representative. The support Carlie in the role of Aboriginal & Torres Strait Islander Representative, the role will be shared with the new Deputy Convenor of CATSIHP, Emeritus Professor Judy Atkinson.

We welcome Carlie and Judy to the PACFA Board.

The results of the Board elections were also announced at the AGM and we are pleased to welcome another two new Board members:

  • Valerie Redman – Psychotherapy Representative
  • Tony Clarkson – Vice President

Four other Board members were re-elected unopposed:

  • Dr Di Stow – President
  • George Gintilas – Treasurer
  • Nigel Polak – Secretary
  • Pat Bradley – Counselling Representative

We farewelled and thanked three Board members who stepped down at the AGM:

  • Simone Falvey-Behr – Ethics Committee Chair
  • Dr Zoe Krupka – Vice President
  • Tara Green – Psychotherapy Representative

Other Committee Chairs who stepped down in recent months were also acknowledged and thanked:

  • Dr Paul McQuillan – Education Program Accreditation Committee Chair
  • Dr Kim Dunphy – Research Committee Chair

The contribution to PACFA of all outgoing Board members has be really substantial. We will greatly miss their presence on the Board but also look forward to working with the new Board members.