↑ Return to PACFA Committees

Ethics Committee

The PACFA Ethics Committee is responsible for reviewing and developing PACFA’s Code of Ethics and overseeing the administration of PACFA’s complaints handling process. Complaints handling is a key function that PACFA undertakes as a peak body for the self-regulating profession of counselling and psychotherapy.

Members of the Ethics Committee are senior and experienced practitioners from the counselling and psychotherapy field. Through their membership of the Ethics Committee, committee members make a substantial contribution, on a voluntary basis, to ethical standards within the counselling and psychotherapy profession in Australia.

For information on how to make a complaint about the ethical conduct of a practitioner, PACFA or a PACFA Member Association, go to the Complaints page.

Download the Ethics Committee – Terms of Reference

Download the Position Description – Ethics Committee Chair

simone-photoCommittee Chair: Simone Falvey-Behr
Diplomee en Ethnologie (France), MA Psych (Australia), AdvCert Sup

Simone Falvey-Behr is a Psychotherapist in private practice, a member of the Centre of Ethics and a Board Member of the Australasian Association of Supervision. Previously President of CAPAV, she successfully led it to merger with PACFA as a member of the Restructure Working Party. She was a member of PACFA Ethics Complaint panels. Over the recent three years, she has served on the PACFA Ethics Committee and as a Panel member for EPAC accreditation of master’s degree courses. Her international experience related to conflict includes some 50 missions on behalf of the Council of Europe and the UN.
She currently chairs the PACFA Committee of Ethics.

Committee members
Crystal Lockard
Ian Goldsmith
Margie Abbott
Maxine Rosenfeld
Tara Green