PACFA Registration

The PACFA National Register is a register of appropriately qualified and experienced Counsellors and Psychotherapists. These practitioners have demonstrated that they:

  • Meet high standards of professional training and ethical conduct
  • Have sufficient experience to deliver quality counselling and psychotherapy services
  • Undertake ongoing professional development and receive professional supervision of their work
  • Belong to one of PACFA’s Member Associations
  • Hold professional indemnity insurance

PACFA Registrants are automatically listed on the Australian Register of Counsellors and Psychotherapists ARCAP. This is the single Register for the counselling and psychotherapy profession in Australia, developed by PACFA in partnership with the Australian Counselling Association (ACA). To find out more about ARCAP, go to the ARCAP page.

Registration categories

There are two registration categories on the PACFA Register, Provisional and Clinical. For details of the eligibility for PACFA Registration, see the Eligibility page.

There are additional registration categories for Mental Health Practitioners and Accredited Supervisors. For details go to the Mental Health Practitioners page and the Accredited Supervisors page.

How to join the PACFA Register

To be listed on the PACFA National Register, practitioners must meet the requirements for either Provisional or Clinical listing. There are also specific requirements for practitioners who are listed as Mental Health Practitioners or Accredited Supervisors.

There are two options for achieving PACFA registration: