↑ Return to PACFA Committees

Research Committee

The PACFA Research Committee oversees implementation of PACFA’s important role relating to research.

The PACFA Board provides direction on research priorities that form the basis for funding applications to philanthropic trusts, funding bodies and Government agencies.

PACFA has three major roles in relation to research:

  • To facilitate high quality, original research into the processes and outcomes of counselling and psychotherapy and into the professions of counselling and psychotherapy, particularly focusing on areas that are important for the profession’s development but where there has been a lack of research activity in Australia to date;
  • To conduct the research necessary to provide data to support PACFA’s position in policy initiatives, including literature searches and reviews; and
  • To disseminate information to the profession about the findings of research relating to counselling and psychotherapy.

Composition of the Research Committee

The Research Committee is to be made up of the following members:

  • Chair appointed by the Board on the recommendation of the committee. (The Chair must have a Higher Degree Research qualification, experience in conducting and publishing research and a demonstrated understanding of ethical issues in the conduct of research.)
  • Research active Board members with a Higher Degree Research qualification; and
  • A minimum of two external advisors who have Higher Degree Research qualifications, experience in conducting and publishing research and a demonstrated understanding of ethical issues in the conduct of research.
  • One external member must be a member of a national body representing carers and consumers.
  • Members with other relevant qualifications may be appointed as required.
  • Working groups may be formed as required to carry out time-limited tasks and projects.
  • External members are engaged through dissemination of committee minutes and attendance at the annual meeting of the committee.

Terms of Reference

The terms of reference of the Research Committee are as follows:

  1. Oversee and ensure implementation of the research agenda of the PACFA Board and Council;
  2. Provide education and guidance for Member Associations on developing an evidence base for the effectiveness of counselling and psychotherapy through research;
  3. Review the progress of research funded by PACFA to ensure the quality of outcomes;
  4. Develop the research agenda of PACFA collaboratively with other senior researchers and stakeholders;
  5. Review and make recommendations to the PACFA Board on the publication and distribution of PACFA research documents, including information placed on the PACFA website;
  6. Support the work of the PACJA Editor:
    –  commissioning articles suitable for publication in PACJA
    –  reviewing articles, as editorial board members; and

7.  Review Committee Terms of Reference every two years at the annual Research Day.

Download the Research Committee – Terms of Reference

ione-lewis-2016Committee Chair: Dr Ione Lewis
PhD (UNSW), Grad Dip Cont Ed (UNE), Dip Psychotherapy (ANZAP), B Soc Stud – SocWk (USyd)

Dr Ione Lewis has been involved in undergraduate and postgraduate counselling, psychotherapy and supervision education, and supervision of higher degree research students for 20 years, as well as practicing as a psychotherapist and supervisor for over 26 years. Currently Ione is Director of QA Higher Education, an educational consultancy, and is in private practice as a Clinical Social Worker and Psychotherapist. Ione is an active researcher in PACFA’s contribution to the profession, professional identity, the relationship between sexual health and violence, gender, evaluation of women’s health services, supervision and consumer participation in research. She is a member of PACFA and AASW and Chair of PACFA’s Research Committee.

Committee members
Assoc Professor Frankie Merritt (on leave)
Gina O’Neill
Dr Elizabeth Day
Professor Robert King (External Consultant)
Eileen McDonald (Carer Representative)
Dr Tristan Snell
Dinah Buchanan (Practitioner Representative)
Dr Kim Dunphy